Mouthgasmic

A Gluten-Free Blog for the Taste Full World

Lemon Asparagus Pasta March 29, 2009

I love asparagus and I love parmesan and lemon and pasta. Put it all together and what do you get? Delicious pasta, I hope. I will update after I’ve tried this recipe, but the feedback on the original author’s website was positive so I have a good feeling. In fact, I may have to make this for dinner… either that or try the Mongolian Beef recipe I’ve had my eye on for a while. (I’ll post that one after I take it for a spin around the dinner plate.)

1 pound asparagus, trimmed and cut diagonally into 1/2-inch thick slices

1 pound bow-tie pasta (I used rice pasta spirals)

3 Tablespoons unsalted butter or margarine

3/4 cup heavy cream, half-and-half or plain Silk creamer

2 teaspoons freshly-grated lemon zest

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup fresh, flat parsley leaves, chopped

Freshly ground pepper

Grated parmesan cheese– Romano works as well

** Personal touch: If you like a little heat, add cayenne pepper to taste to the lemon sauce.**

Steam asparagus until crisp-tender (about 5 minutes). Transfer to a colander and rinse with cold water. Drain well and set aside.

Meanwhile, bring water to boil in a sauce pan. Add pasta and cook until al dente.

In a deep skillet, heat butter and cream over moderately low heat until butter is melted. Stir in zest, lemon juice and salt.

Ladle 1/4 cup pasta water into sauce and drain pasta.

Immediately add pasta and asparagus to sauce in skillet. Cook and toss until warmed through. Add parsley, pepper and top with parmesan.

<http://alladither.typepad.com/halfassedkitchen/2009/03/asparagus-lemon-pasta.html>

 

One Response to “Lemon Asparagus Pasta”

  1. Holy Yummy-ness! That looks A-MAZING! My hubby would die of joy if I made that for him! :-D


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.