Mouthgasmic

A Gluten-Free Blog for the Taste Full World

Teaser for “Go Ahead Honey”– Quick & spicy comfort soup January 27, 2010

I will still take submissions for “Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free” through tomorrow and will post everything by Sunday.

It may not be snowing here, and the rain storms have passed, but it’s still chilly outside. I am cozying up with a cup of the soup I made for my submission this month. What is it? You’ll find out this weekend. In the mean time, I have a quick, but impressive recipe that heats up well and stretches out a box of pre-made soup.

Creamy Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

1 part boxed butternut squash soup from Trader Joe’s (or your equivilent favorite)

1 part milk and/or cream (depending on your desired thickness and fat content)

Tabasco/southwestern hot sauce of your preference (I used Tapatio’s, but use what you like)

Mix and heat.

I use this recipe as a way to double what I get out of the prepared soups which can be on the expensive end if you’re buying one that’s wheat and sugar (i.e. corn syrup) free.  It’s easy, it’s quick, hot, filling, delicious and fairly healthy. Plus, if the boxed soup is good (and TJ’s version is), this will taste like you picked, peeled and roasted the squash yourself.

Come back this weekend for the unveiling of some fantastic soups and stews!