Mouthgasmic

A Gluten-Free Blog for the Taste Full World

Green Bean & Onion White Pizza June 12, 2009

Filed under: Creative Creations,Gluten Free,No Cane/Refined Sugar — Laura @ 10:41 am
Tags: , , ,

Pizza is one of the foods I could eat every day for a month and want it every day the following month. The trick would be coming up with new pizzas… something I did recently.

Joy of joys, I found a way to satisfy this craving without feeling guilty and ill about consuming wheat & yeast-full ‘real’ pizza.

I was wandering around the frozen food isle at Whole Foods and voyeurishly eyeing the pizzas when I saw a brown rice crust. “No… it probably has yeast and eggs… oh, just go check” I said to myself. No eggs! No yeast! A Laura-friendly pizza crust? Hooray!

Then, I was pondering the goat cheese I have in the fridge and whose texture is too soft for my taste. “Wouldn’t this taste lovely as the “sauce” for a pizza?” whispered a hungry voice in my head. With that, my first attempt at a white pizza was born.  The crust isn’t the same as yeasty-wheaty versions… but it does well enough to keep me from stalking a pizza place and and drooling outside with my nose against the window.

What you need:

(The veggies are an estimated amount-to-taste. Play around with the balance according to your preference. I love to smother my food in onions… so that’s reflected in my proportions here. I won’t be offended if you don’t enjoy them as much as I do– in fact I would be flabbergasted if ANYone loved onions more.)

1 pizza crust

1/2 yellow onion (I used a sweet one because it was on hand)

Handful of green beans (fresh or frozen– NO CANNED BEANS!!)

Spreadable goat cheese

Sliced garlic

Sliced parmegian or romano

Olive oil

What you do:

Prep crust as directed on packaging (pre-cooking if that’s an option), or use your favorite homemade recipe. Brush a little oil on the crust to keep it from drying out.

Saute onions in a tiny bit of oil. You just want to soften and brown them a little so the flavor mellows. Browning adds flavor, but you probably want them a little crunchy. When onions are almost done, flash cook the green beans. I use Trader Joe’s bagged, frozen beans- they come out tasting fresh and are more convenient to keep around. Like the onions, you just want to start them, get a little browning and keep the veggies crunchy! Aside from canned, mushy style is the least mouthgasmic way to eat vegetables.

Moving away from such terrifying thoughts…

Spread the goat cheese on your crust and arrange the slices of garlic. I put my garlic underneath the cheese and toppings because I want to avoid any chance of burning. If you had larger chunks, you could probably get away with layering them closer to the surface.

After the garlic, spread out your onions and green beans. In order to prevent drying and charcoaled edges, I put my toppings under the cheese. Layer cheese over the top. With a strong cheese like I’ve used here, do not suffocate your veggies- patchy cheese strategically placed around the pie will be both friendlier to your taste buds and your wasteline.

Since your crust is cooked and your veggies are half-done… all that remains is melting the cheese and leting the flavors blend in the oven. I think I put mine in for 5-10 minutes, but I kept a close eye and pulled out my pizza when the cheese was bubbly and brown around the edges.

Enjoy with a mellow beer or hard cider.

 

Leave a Reply

