Mouthgasmic

A Gluten-Free Blog for the Taste Full World

Where have I been? October 10, 2009

Filed under: Other — Laura @ 9:06 am

In both my internet and real-world presences, I’ve become quite a-social. In the last couple months, I started a new job and moved to a new apartment. Since then, I’ve been trying to get myself together and find time for everything I want to do! I know this isn’t a new story, but… there it is.

My new apartment is cute, albeit tiny. I have two major problems as concern this blog. First, I have a gas stove. I’ve never worked with a gas stove before. I had to have my boyfriend light the range and I still don’t think the oven part works. I am terrified of doing something wrong and blowing up my apartment, my birds, my dog, the BF, and myself. So, my cooking has been limited to toaster-oven and microwaveables.

Speaking of microwaves, is it weird not having one? My practical BF pointed out last night that I use the toaster oven more than the microwave; so why keep it around in a house where extra space is a myth? Doesn’t everyone have one? How would I make… and I couldn’t think of anything that I regularly eat that *needs* the microwave! I reheat my leftovers in the oven because they taste freshly made that way and I can use a saucepan or kettle to heat water.

Anyway, my second big problem is beyond personal ignorance. My sink has been leaking behind the wall since before I moved in. Right now, there is a big hole where my backsplash used to be, parts of the linoleum countertop are ripped off and the plumber isn’t coming until Monday. They’re probably going to tear out the bottom half of my cabinetry because all that water = mold. ugh. I’m glad I’m only a renter, but they better get every spore or I will have serrious problems living here.

So this is why I haven’t been posting. Hopefully once my sink and stove issues are resolved, I will have something tasty to post. I will be making some Pumpkin apple muffins for this month’s Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free meme. So look forward to that plate of deliciousness!

 

Leave a Reply

